Journal Jottings

Hello World

Greetings people of the interwebs!

*peeks nervously from under a fluffly blanket*

Soooo guess what…

.

.

.

I assume you're waiting on the edge of your seat to know what's happening, or maybe not and the fact that I'm posting here is pretty self-explanatory but here goes: I decided to make use of this blog space again!

You may be asking "Why?" at this point, so here's a bit of history and a little map to the inner workings of my noggin.

Behind the Scenes:

This domain space was my original blog about a year ago when I first decided randomly in the middle of the night to start a blog.

I went by the name FireBerry because I thought it was a cute way to say I have strawberry blonde hair, and I have a bit of a temper sometimes but I can also be sweet.

I used Fire Berry to learn the ropes of blogging and get a feel for the environment, cautiously playing around with the software and writing some things that were on my mind.

This all happened over a year ago (actually I just checked and my first post was on the 7th of June 2016, so a year and 11 days) and then in September I started a Social Media class at my new Uni.

I was trying to study Journalism and BIS at the time, but I really enjoyed the social media class and I learned a few more things about blogging that I had never heard of before.

We learned why self-hosted blogs are potentially a better choice than free blogs, so I decided to make the shift to self-hosted.

I absolutely love the freedom it gives you and I was ecstatic to have something new to play around with and get to know.

So I moved all of my content that was originally on Fire Berry to my new self-hosted domain and decided to revamp my name and make some other changes to the layout and so on.

Basically, Fire Berry morphed into Binx Thinx.

This was for a few reasons:

  1. I discovered Fire Berry is a kind of sneaker/running shoe(?) a thing from Runescape, and also appears in Narnia. (the fangirl in me is shaking her head because I should have known).
  2. Clearly my blog would not have a unique name and people would think I'm talking about a shoe… (the other two associations are cooler and I wouldn't have minded haha)
  3. When I first started, I wanted to be anonymous, but a lot of my close friends and family found out about it, so there wasn't much point in having a pseudonym anymore.
  4. I learned in class that you should try to have a unique way to identify yourself, so I googled Binx Thinx and not a lot popped up.
  5. Binx is a nickname of mine from many of my friends.
  6. I have a thing for rhyming.
  7. I wanted to have Binx Thinks as a cute, memorable blog name but my mom suggested I keep the 'inx' spelling.

 

 

The Results:

Thus, Fire Berry became Binx Thinx (@binxthinxabout on most social media).

It took me some time to move everything to the new domain, so I kept this blog up and running.

I was also struggling with how to share my posts with my original followers, because self-hosted blogs do not show up on the WordPress.com reader.

At first I tried just reblogging my Binx Thinx About posts to Fire Berry, but I didn't like the way it looked and the people who followed both got annoyed with the repetitiveness. So I stopped doing that after some time.

I also stopped going onto the my own WordPress Reader and catching up with the blogs I follow, because the self-hosted has a different layout and I forgot to go to wordpress.com to access my reader.

University became more insistent and lots of social drama has happened in the meantime, but eventually I decided I missed this community a lot.

Then I remembered I still had my FireBerry domain. I didn't like the state it was in, so this week I decided to do something with it.

Future Plans:

I decided to revamp this blog into something Binx Thinx related, but that doesn't just regurgitate everything that is on my main blog.

I want to use this blog more like an online journal and a way to better interact with people and do some daily prompts and things to keep myself writing.

At the moment I feel too much pressure when writing something. It needs a cover photo and I don't like posting short posts on my main blog.

I decided I want to use this 'journal' to just post something whenever I wanted to write something, even if it's just to share a quote or a cool thing that happened in less than 50 words.

I'm still keeping my main blog for all the reviews and planned posts. I am planning on making a posting schedule for it so that I have weekly planned out posts for Binx Thinx, while the journal can be my more sporadic and scattered place to express whatever is on my mind. It is also the place where I get the most community interaction, which I have missed a lot.

It may not completely make sense but I hardly ever do.

This post turned out to be much much longer than I thought it would but oh well.

Here's to the future of hopefully a lot more writing and being creative.

xoxo

Binx

3 thoughts on “Hello World

  1. Fabulous idea! Absolutely makes sense. At least you get to post more often and there’s less pressure.

    I don’t know if you know that I have that annajaileneaguilar.com site. You can’t even like there. You can’t subscribe. I didn’t get it from WordPress. It’s a normal site. It’s me. My Ithinkisayido.wordpress.com remains my musings and other things but my site is for more “formal” posts and I’ve added photography. I plan to move all fiction and poetry there but for now, I have to WordPress share. 😐

    The Travel one? It’s hard work with the photos. Sigh! I’m happy if I can post once a week. I do far too many things to blog about but no time to blog. I’m like 2 years behind. Hahaha!

    I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 yeah I’m currently brainstorming some ideas and thinking of collaborations or guest posts or something fun. I just need a day to sit down and focus on this without everything else happening 🙈 I don’t think I’ve seen the annajaileneaguilar site but I will do some exploring and catch up on all the posts I’ve missed soon 💖💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s actually not easy to follow through on this blogging thing but the fact that you’re still here after a year is an achievement. 🙂 Use a guideline when and what to post but be flexible so you don’t feel bad and stay away. Much love and hugs.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

